Prof. Dr. Johannes Orphal
Head of Division 4 "Natural and Built Environment"
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
Karlsruhe, Germany

born 11.07.1966 in Magdeburg, Germany married, 4 children German citizen



Professional career

2020-	Head of Division 4 "Natural and Built Environment", KIT, Karlsruhe
2009-	Full Professor of Physics, KIT, Karlsruhe
2009-2020	Director, Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK), KIT, Karlsruhe
2006-2009	Professeur des Universités (Physique), Université de Paris-Est, Créteil, France
2005-2008	Visiting Scientist (3 months per year), University College Cork (UCC), Ireland
2002	Habilitation à Diriger les Recherches, Université de Paris-Sud, Orsay, France
1999-2005	Chargé de Recherche, CNRS, Laboratoire de Photophysique Moléculaire, Orsay, and
	Laboratoire Interuniversitaire des Systèmes Atmosphériques, Créteil, France
1995-1999	Research Associate (PostDoc), Institute of Environmental Physics (IUP) and Institute
	of Remote Sensing (IFE), University of Bremen, Germany
1995	Docteur en Sciences ("Lasers et Matière"), Université de Paris-Sud, Orsay, France
1991-1995	Doctoral Student, Laboratoire de Physique Moléculaire et Applications, CNRS and
	Université de Paris-Sud, Orsay, France
1991	Diploma in Physics, Division of Molecular Physics, Humboldt University of Berlin
1986-1991	Physics Student, Humboldt University Berlin
1984-1986	Computer Operator (IBM 360), professional training and certificate, VEB DVZ, Berlin
1984	Abitur, Max-Planck-Gymnasium (1st EOS), Berlin

Awards

2019	Corresponding Member, Académie de l'Air et de l'Espace, Toulouse, France
2018	Prix "Gay-Lussac – Humboldt" of the Académie des Sciences (Paris), France
2017	"Gentner – Kastler" Prize (jointly awarded by the German DPG and the French SFP)
2014	Prix "La Recherche" (France), category Environnement (Co-Lauréat), France
2012	Faculty Award for the best Experimental Physics Lecture, KIT, Karlsruhe, Germany
2010	Milestone Paper Award (3 papers) – 50 Years of the Journal of Quantitative
	Spectroscopy & Radiative Transfer
2005-2008	EU Senior Research Fellow, Transfer of Knowledge (ToK) Network, University College
	Cork (UCC), Ireland
2004	Prix de la Valorisation de la Recherche (Prix du Conseil Général de l'Essonne), Université
	Paris-11 (Paris-Sud), Orsay, France
2003	The Journal of Molecular Spectroscopy Special Review Lecture, Award received at the
	58th International Symposium on Molecular Spectroscopy, Ohio State University,
	Columbus, USA
1998-1999	"Emmy Noether" Fellow of the German Research Foundation DFG, individual fellowship
1992-1994	"Marie Curie" Fellow of the European Commission CEC DG-XII, individual fellowship
1991-1992	MICECO Fellow of the French Government (initiative of President François Mitterand)

Scientific publications and direction

>250 publications, >190 peer-reviewed papers (ISI), >20000 citations, h-index 52 (Google Scholar) Direction of >30 PhD students, active teaching (University level) since 1997

Research management and leadership of large scientific projects (selected)

Management Board of the Research Field "Earth and Environment", Helmholtz Association (HGF), 2020-Board of Trustees for the German research aircraft HALO ("High-Altitude Long-Range Aircraft"), 2020-Board of Trustees for the High-Altitude Research Station "Schneefernerhaus" (Mt Zugspitze), 2020-Chairman of the Board of CEDIM ("Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction"), 2020-Scientific Spokesperson for the "Atmosphere and Climate" programme, funded by the German government (BMBF) via the Helmholtz Association (HGF), 2011-2019

Member of the Scientific Steering Committee for the German research aircraft HALO ("High-Altitude Long-Range Aircraft"), 2010-2020

Member of the Mission Advisory Group for the "Meteosat Third Generation" (MTG) Infrared Sounder (IRS), EUMETSAT, 2017-2020

Vice-President of EUCOR ("Association of European Universities on the Upper Rhine"), 2014-2015
Scientific Spokesperson of the KIT Center Climate and Environment, 2011-2015
Member of the Mission Advisory Group for PREMIER (Earth Explorer 7 candidate), ESA, 2009-2013
Steering Committee of the "Programme National Chimie Atmosphérique" (PNCA), France, 2005-2009

Committees (selected)

Member of the International Selection Committee, Institut Universitaire de France (IUF), 2024-Chair of the Research and Transfer Committee of the European University Alliance EPICUR, 2023-Chair of the Environmental Physics Division, European Physical Society (EPS), 2020-

Member (appointed by the Ministry MESRI) of the Conseil Scientifique of the CNRS (France), 2018-2024 Scientific expert for the Belgian Federal Science Police Office (BELSPO), Bruxelles, 2015-

Scientific expert for the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Bonn, 2010-

Scientific expert for the research agencies ANR (including EQUIPEX) and AERES/HCERES, 2005-

Chair of the International Prize Committee of the German Physical Society, 2019-2023

Scientific Committee of the "High-Resolution Molecular Spectroscopy" (HRMS) Conferences, 2005-2023 Member of the KIT Senate, 2011-2020

Scientific expert and jury member for the Robert Bosch Foundation, Stuttgart, 2017-2020

Member of the Scientific Advisory Council, European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF), 2011-2018

Member of the International Radiation Commission (IRC), IUGG-IAMAS, 2009-2016
Scientific Advisory Board of the Leibniz Institute for Atmospheric Physics, Kühlungsborn, 2013-2016
Scientific Advisory Board of the Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research, Leipzig, 2009-2016

Scientific Advisory Board of the Ecisiniz Histitate for Hopospheric Research, Ecipzig, 2003-2016

President of the AEQES (Belgium) Committee for Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, 2014-2015

Vice-Chair of the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR) Commission A1 ("Atmosphere, Meteorology, and Climate"), 2004-2012

Member of the Conseil National Universitaire (CNU), Section 30 "Physique Atomique et Moléculaire, Optique, Spectroscopie", 2006-2009

Member of the Bureau National of the Société Française de Physique (SFP), 2005-2009 Member of the Conseil d'Administration of the Société Française de Physique (SFP), 2003-2005