Prof. Dr. Johannes Orphal Head of Division 4 "Natural and Built Environment" Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) Karlsruhe, Germany



Professional career

2020-	Head of Division 4 "Natural and Built Environment", KIT, Karlsruhe
2009-	Full Professor of Physics, KIT, Karlsruhe
2009-2020	Director, Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK), KIT, Karlsruhe
2006-2009	Professeur des Universités (Physique), Université de Paris-Est, Créteil, France
2005-2008	Visiting Scientist (3 months per year), University College Cork (UCC), Ireland
2002	Habilitation à Diriger les Recherches, Université de Paris-Sud, Orsay, France
1999-2005	Chargé de Recherche, CNRS, Laboratoire de Photophysique Moléculaire, Orsay, and Laboratoire Interuniversitaire des Systèmes Atmosphériques, Créteil, France
1995-1999	Research Associate (PostDoc), Institute for Environmental Physics (IUP) and Institute for Remote Sensing (IFE), University of Bremen, Germany
1995	Docteur en Sciences ("Lasers et Matière"), Université de Paris-Sud, Orsay, France
1991-1995	Doctoral Student, Laboratoire de Physique Moléculaire et Applications, CNRS and Université de Paris-Sud, Orsay, France
1991	Diploma in Physics, Division of Molecular Physics, Humboldt University of Berlin
1986-1991	Physics Student, Humboldt University Berlin
1984-1986	Computer Operator, professional training and certificate, VEB DVZ, Berlin
1984	Abitur, Max-Planck-Gymnasium (1st EOS), Berlin

Awards

&
ris-
n A
k

Scientific publications

250 scientific publications, 190 peer-reviewed papers (ISI), 16000 citations, h-index 52 (Google Scholar)

Research management (selected)

Management Board of the Research Field "Earth and Environment", Helmholtz Association (HGF), 2020-

Board of Trustees for the German research aircraft HALO ("High-Altitude Long-Range Aircraft"), 2020-

Board of Trustees for the High-Altitude Research Station "Schneefernerhaus" (Mt Zugspitze), 2020-

Chairman of the Board of CEDIM ("Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction"), 2020-

Scientific Spokesperson for the "Atmosphere and Climate" programme, funded by the German government (BMBF) via the Helmholtz Association (HGF), 2012-2020

Member of the Scientific Steering Committee for the German research aircraft HALO ("High-Altitude Long-Range Aircraft"), 2010-2020

Member of the Mission Advisory Group for the "Meteosat Third Generation" (MTG) Infrared Sounder (IRS), EUMETSAT, 2017-2020

Vice-President of EUCOR ("Association of European Universities on the Upper Rhine"), 2014-2015

Scientific Spokesperson of the KIT Center Climate and Environment, 2011-2015

Member of the Mission Advisory Group for PREMIER (Earth Explorer 7 candidate), ESA, 2009-2013

Steering Committee of the Programme National Chimie Atmosphérique (PNCA), France, 2005-2009

Committees (selected)

Member of the International Selection Committee, Institut Universitaire de France (IUF), 2024-

Chair of the Research and Transfer Committee of the European University Alliance EPICUR, 2023-

Chair of the Environmental Physics Division, European Physical Society (EPS), 2020-

Member (appointed by the Ministry MESRI) of the Conseil Scientifique of the CNRS (France), 2018-2024

Scientific expert for the Belgian Federal Science Police Office (BELSPO), Bruxelles, 2015-

Scientific expert for the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Bonn, 2010-

Scientific expert for the research agencies ANR (including EQUIPEX) and AERES/HCERES, 2005-

Chair of the International Prize Committee of the German Physical Society, 2019-2023

Scientific Committee of the "High-Resolution Molecular Spectroscopy" (HRMS) Conferences, 2005-2023

Member of the KIT Senate, 2011-2020

Scientific expert and jury member for the Robert Bosch Foundation, Stuttgart, 2017-2020

Member of the Scientific Advisory Council, European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF), 2011-2018

Member of the International Radiation Commission (IRC), IUGG-IAMAS, 2009-2016

Scientific Advisory Board of the Leibniz Institute for Atmospheric Physics, Kühlungsborn, 2013-2016

Scientific Advisory Board of the Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research, Leipzig, 2009-2016

President of the AEQES (Belgium) Committee for Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences, 2014-2015

Vice-Chair of the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR) Commission A1 ("Atmosphere, Meteorology, and Climate"), 2004-2012

Member of the Conseil National Universitaire (CNU), Section 30 "Physique Atomique et Moléculaire, Optique, Spectroscopie", 2006-2009

Member of the Bureau National of the Société Française de Physique (SFP), 2005-2009

Member of the Conseil d'Administration of the Société Française de Physique (SFP), 2003-2005